After Eight Red Velvet Cookies

I think it might be safe to assume that nearly everyone knows about the chocolate chip pudding cookie recipe which is delectably soft without being undercooked. The secret’s in the pudding, amirite?

Well, I’m certainly familiar with the pudding mix method for making chocolate chip cookies, and it’s my favourite chocolate chip cookie recipe I’ve ever tried. When I find a recipe I really love, I love to treat it like a blank canvas and play around with it, which is how these After Eight Red Velvet cookies came into being.

I did the pudding cookie recipe, although I used a chocolate flavoured pudding mix and I omitted the chocolate chips. I also mixed in about 2 tablespoons of liquid red food colouring as I was adding the wet ingredients. Finally, as I was rolling the cookies into balls, I flattened them into a kind if curved patty, pressed an After Eight mint into it, and carefully closed it up so the mint was well hidden. Then I proceeded to bake as normal, and the result was these totally rad cookies. I’m kind of convinced that they could be improved upon by using mini York Peppermint Patties, but I didn’t have any of those available the day I made these cookies.

imageimage

2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 tsp vanilla
1 pkg instant vanilla pudding
2 eggs
1 pkg chocolate chips

Combine butter, sugars, pudding mix, and vanilla in large bowl; beat until creamy. Add in eggs one at a time. Sift together flour and baking soda, and gradually add to wet ingredients. Fold in chocolate chips. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls on I greased cookie sheet and bake 375*F for 8-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

