Cottage Cheese Cookies

I found these cookies on a list on the internet of cookies from the past. I can’t find the list anymore, but fortunately I saved the recipe because it’s surprisingly delicious.

I’ve been baking and cooking for long enough that I won’t let an unusual- or even unappealing-sounding combination deter me. Instead, I read through the ingredients, imagine how they would taste in concert and, if my mouth starts salivating, I can be sure that the recipe will be delicious. That’s what happened when I read the recipe for cottage cheese cookies.

On the surface, cottage cheese seems like an unusual addition to a cookie. Think about it a bit more, though, and you realise that cottage cheese is just another soft cheese and we use soft cheeses in baking all the time: cream cheese, mascarpone, ricotta, for example. Heck, I’ve even substituted cottage cheese for ricotta before, and it was delicious. So, cottage cheese cookies are more than just potentially delicious. They’re really fudging good, mmmmmkay? Let’s assume that is just a given, okay.

I can tell you from experience that these are soft and chewy, and I think we’ve already established that they’re delicious. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough. And more often than not, people will ask for the recipe. And I have yet to have anyone correctly guess the “secret” ingredient.

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup cottage cheese
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Cream together butter and cottage cheese. Blend in sugar, vanilla, and egg. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into cottage cheese mixture. Drop by gently rounded teaspoonfuls onto a cookie sheet and bake ~10 minutes in a preheated 375*F oven.

Why not leave some of these out for Santa on Christmas Eve?

image

2 thoughts on “Cottage Cheese Cookies

Leave a Reply

