Roses ‘n’ Cream Ice Cream at Baskin Robbins

I hate to admit it, but I’m much more likely to complain about my negative experiences than acknowledge the positive ones, which is why my experience at Baskin Robbins in the Marina Mall last night is such a stand-out experience: it was not just amazing, but amazing enough to write about!

First, I noticed there was a flavour called ‘Fuji Apple’ so I asked for a sample. It reminded me of and made me feel wistful for the apple mint ice cream that BR in Korea serves seasonally, so I told the guy who was working about how much I loved apple mint ice cream. He offered to mix some Fuji Apple together with some mint chocolate chip for me. I declined, but he went ahead and gave me a small sample. It just wasn’t the same as the real apple mint, but the gesture was one of the sweetest gestures I’ve received in a long time from a person in the service industry.

image

I was about to order a scoop of cotton candy ice cream, which is my fallback choice when no other flavours appeal to me when the guy behind the counter suggested I try rose ice cream. Before I could say anything, he’d run over and spooned out a small sample for me. It was delicious, so I changed my order to roses ‘n’ cream ice cream. Well, now, the other guy who was working that evening, who had been quiet up until now called out, “Be careful! It has a thorn in it! Get it? Because it’s roses?!” Ba-dumtsch! What a couple of jokesters. They sure made things fun, anyway.

image

And there you have it, ladies and gents: as South Korea Baskin Robbins brought us apple mint ice cream, Baskin Robbins in the Middle East has given us roses ‘n’ cream ice cream.

Leave a Reply

