A restaurant quest

image

Kuwait is the type of place where you can EAT, and eat well, but I’m not interested in fancy-pants type restaurants. What I really look for is ma and pop type restaurants or hole-in-the-wall eateries. I tell people that after spending years and years in poverty-stricken countries, I feel much more comfortable in eateries like this, and that explanation is mostly accurate, but really I think I’m just shell-shocked and even though I no longer live surrounded by abject poverty, I still can’t get myself out of that headspace. I can’t even bring myself to get a mobile phone, for spaghetti monster’s sake!

On one of my first nights in Kuwait a little over a month ago, I walked all over looking for a hole-in-the-wall Indian restaurant. I found plenty of small chinese restaurants, as well as lots of shawarma places, but no Indian food (aside from Mughal Mahal, but that’s neither ma n pa nor hole-in-the-wall, and that’s another blog post).

Well. The other day as I was leaving my apartment, I chanced to look left down a little side street and what did I see but Al Dandhan Indian, Pakistani, Arabic and Chinese Restaurant! Exactly what I’d been looking for last month and, what’s more, it’s literally (and I do mean literally) a two minute walk from my house. I think Al Dandhan and I will be seeing a lot more of each other in the future.

Leave a Reply

