Wang Mandu

Mandu is one of my favourite guilty pleasures in Korea.  I guess the best way to describe mandu is “dumpings”.  I love it, I just can’t get enough, but I force myself to order it sparingly for fear I might start to get sick of it.

Mandu has many incarnations, but one that I discovered after a whole TWO years in Korea was wang mandu.  “Wang” means “king”, so wang mandu is the king of all mandu.  It’s huge, and for a piddly 4000 won (about 4 bucks), you get SIX of these massive suckers.

IMG_0085[1]

Even if you can’t read Korean, wang mandu shops are easy to spot because they have these huge steaming pots out front.

IMG_0086[1]

Wang mandu comes with some soy sauce and some daikon (a kind of sweet pickled yellow radish which I think is just delicious).

IMG_0090[1]  IMG_0093[1]

It’s mashisayo.

 

Leave a Reply

