Starbucks Mooncakes

Starbucks mooncake, complete with the Starbucks logo on it

Starbucks mooncake, complete with the Starbucks logo on it

When they say there is one egg inside, they are being literal.

When they say there is one egg inside, they are being literal.

The rock solid egg yolk in the centre of my mooncake

The rock solid egg yolk in the centre of my mooncake

Alright, these pics are actually from last month, but I’ve been a little backed up with sharing pics of food (I figured I’d get that confession out of the way, because mooncakes are really only sold in Asia during a certain time of year, and I’m not really sure whether they’re still being sold now in Thailand– they were certainly being sold in Thailand throughout August).   I’m not actually clear on what the significance of the mooncakes are.  All I really know is that they are NOT delicious (at least, not to my Western palette).  And I do know that you are likely to see them in China and other Asian countries with a Chinese influence around August.  I’m not sure why, though.  And they have one egg inside, but I’m not sure the significance of the one egg.  If you have any insights about mooncakes, feel free to leave a comment and educate me!  Mmmthanks!

Leave a Reply

