Pork with Holy Basil

pork with holy basil 1pork with holy basil 2

I had read about pork with holy basil and really wanted to try it.  However, I was really not sure what exactly it looked like or how to say it in Thai, so finding and ordering it proved to be a little tricky, but I think this is it.  Probably.  Another thing which I’m not sure of: holy basil? or holly basil?  I’ve seen both spellings, and I’m not sure which is correct (and I’m too lazy to put any research into it).  I like the “holy” version, as, to me, it suggests that it is a basil so special that it has achieved holy status.

Whatever this is, it’s a dish so spicy that the cook who makes it has to cover his or her mouth with his or her apron whilst cooking.  Once, I was walking through an alley, and I walked past a man making this dish and accidentally inhaled at the wrong time and just double over coughing.  The cook seemed to find that pretty funny.  Anyway, it might be a little bitch to cook, but eating it is muy delicious!

A dish so spicy you have to cover your mouth to cook it

A dish so spicy you have to cover your mouth to cook it

Leave a Reply

