McThai

McWai

McWai

Yeah, I know—on my “about” page, I said I think it’s a shame when people go abroad only to end up sitting in McDonalds rather than sampling all of the local foods.  Well, the reason why I know those people exist is that, occasionally, I join them.  BUT! I’ve got a good excuse!  I live a deprived life in Burma, and when I go someplace where McDonalds is an option, I like to treat myself to something really Western; a really familiar treat from home.  Also, I am exceptionally prone to food poisoning, and when I’m recovering from an especially bad bout of food poisoning, there is nothing better or safer or more comforting (imo) than McDonalds softserve.  PLUS! McDonalds in foreign countries is just really cool.

In Thailand, outside of each McDonalds, there is a Ronald statue doing the Thai wai.  I like to call it the McWai.  And they usually have a Thai-inspired rice dish on their menu in Thailand.  This time around, their rice dish was a teriyaki chicken dish, which I don’t think is especially Thai (I always associate teriyaki with Japan, not Thailand), and they also had a Samurai burger option (which, again, I associate more with Japan than Thailand, but whatevs—I ran with it).

The Samurai Pork Burger

The Samurai Pork Burger

Yes, I did eat this.  Please don't judge me.

Yes, I did eat this. Please don’t judge me.

Other things which you can get at McDonalds in Thailand which you can’t get in other places include a chicken and ham pie, corn pie, and pineapple pie.

Chicken and Ham Pie

Chicken and Ham Pie

Pineapple Pie, Corn Pie

Pineapple Pie, Corn Pie

 

 

Leave a Reply

