AIRPLANE FOOD: Lao Central Airlines

lao central airlines 2 lao central airlines 3

Okay, I’ve got a confession to make: I kind of like airplane food.  Sure, it’s not always great, but it’s usually at least interesting.  On the way to Laos, Lao Central Airlines served a fairly tasty croissant sandwich with butter, cheese, and ham.  On the way out of Laos, they served up a dish with rice, chicken, ginger, bamboo shoots, and onion.  Alright, the chicken was a little dry, but I enjoyed one last taste of Lao food as I headed back to Thailand.

And on smaller flights on smaller or newer airlines, your meal is often served in a cute little box, which I like a lot because it means that when you are finished eating, you can close up your box and you don’t have to stare at a gross ugly half-eaten food tray until the flight attendants get around to clearing away your tray (which often takes much longer than what is comfortable).

lao central airlines 1

Yes, that’s right, I am back in Thailand now.  I have mixed feelings about this.  On the one hand, I really like Thailand and I need to be here because I really need to get my new Burmese visa and I really need to get back to Burma to find a new apartment (my lease is up and I’m kind of a little bit [read: a lot] too poor to renew it).  On the other hand, I sort of fell in love with Lao food.  There were all kinds of foods which I really wanted to try and didn’t get the chance to, and there were also all kinds of foods which I had tried once and wanted to go back and have again because they were so delicious.  You know what this means, though, don’t you?  There’s got to be another trip to Laos in the cards for me!  When I get money again, maybe I could figure out how to take a weekend trip to Laos so I can eat all of the rest of the food I wanted to on this trip.  Yeehaw!

Leave a Reply

