Orlam

orlam

I think an alternate spelling for this dish might be “aw lam”.  As I discovered with naem/nam, regardless of how you spell it, it’s going to taste the same, and that is delicious.  Orlam is another dish which surprised me.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but what came out was so much more appealing than what I was imagining.  In my guidebook, it was described as a stew, but I’d describe it as a soup with a LOT of ingredients in it.  It actually reminded me of a not red version of tom yum.  Everything I ever read about orlam said that it is cooked with woodchips for flavour.  Maybe these woodchips were removed before the soup was served, but I never saw any evidence of woodchips. There was certainly lemongrass.  And I think maybe ginger or galangal.  And as far as ingredients that you are meant to eat, there were mushrooms, pieces of eggplant (aubergine), and chicken.  Yummers!

Leave a Reply

