River Moss

river moss 1 river moss 2

River moss which has been dried out and seasoned with garlic and chilies, and then fried in a seasoned oil is kind of a specialty in Luang Prabang.  I have to admit that the description didn’t sound too terribly appetising, but I’ll try most foods at least once, so I went ahead and ordered this when I was in Luang Prabang.  To be fair, the description I read compared it to nori seaweed, and I actually do really enjoy eating seaweed with rice (that is something which is done in Korea, and I lived there for quite awhile), so that put me somewhat at ease when I decided to order this dish.

When it came out, it was not exactly what I was expecting.  I’m not sure what I was expecting, exactly, it’s just that the dish that came out was actually much more appealing than what I figured would be coming.  And you know what else?  It was really good!  It was so good that when it turned out that my camera battery died just as my food arrived, the prospect of coming back and ordering this dish again wasn’t such a terrible prospect.  Yeah, I think if you ever make it to Luang Prabang, you should try this dish.  And hey, if it turns out that you don’t like it as much as I did, the local cats seem to enjoy it, so it likely won’t go to waste.

river moss 3

Leave a Reply

