RESTAURANT REVIEWS: Le Banneton

Le Moulin (custard with chocolate chips)

Le Moulin (custard with chocolate chips)

Le Papillon (custard with tropical fruits)

Le Papillon (custard with tropical fruits)

Tarte au Citron

Tarte au Citron

Petite Tarte au Fraise

Petite Tarte au Fraise

Tarte aux Abricots

Tarte aux Abricots

Croissant with Custard and Almond

Croissant with Custard and Almond

Tarte aux Pommes

Tarte aux Pommes

Viennoiserie Poire et Chocolat

Viennoiserie Poire et Chocolat

I went to Le Banneton the other morning for two reasons: (1) it is billed by Lonely Planet as the best bakery in town and (2) it’s a convenient 30-second walk from my guesthouse, and okay, food is my kryptonite and the promise of delicious pastries is just something I can’t pass up.  I always have a hard time with things which are labelled as the “best” because that just sets people up for disappointment, but I was very pleased to find that Le Banneton does not disappoint at all.  In fact, it was so good I went back later in the day for more, even though I wasn’t particularly hungry, and then I went back the next day as well.  And maybe the next day, too.  Not only is their food beautiful, it’s delicious, and the inside of the restaurant, while plain and simple, has a few French touches like rustic wooden beams which make it feel very comfortable.  And if the food and comfortable atmosphere isn’t reason enough to go, the owner is very kind.  This is certainly a place I really enjoyed and would love to go back again and again for further, ahem, research.

Le Banneton also offers a selection of sandwiches and… oh, alright, I didn’t make it past their pastries, but the meals the other customers were eating looked amazing.  They certainly offer sandwiches, as well as other delicious food.  AND ice cream!  They have ice cream, too.  Ice cream is important.

I think you’d have to have a pretty big stick shoved up your ass to not enjoy Le Banneton.  It’s the type of place that would certainly make a European feel right at home, but even us country bumpkin types from North America are able to appreciate how good it is.  Please go there if you visit Vientiane.

