Banana Som Tam

6-1 banana som tam

Today, I decided that because I’ve been doing so much eating lately, today was going to be a day of fasting.  It was going pretty well right up until early in the day when I came across a som tam vendor making a type of som tam that I had never seen before.  I asked what it was and she said, “Banana.”  I said, “I’ll take one!”  Just to be on the safe side, I ordered a normal papaya som tam, as well, in case I didn’t like the banana one.  I’m glad I did that, as the banana one was a little bitter and made my mouth feel slightly numb every time I took a new bite.  It did taste good, but I just didn’t like the way it made my mouth feel.  I ended up eating only half of it, and then diving wholeheartedly into my “normal” som tam.

6-2 papaya som tam

Leave a Reply

