Bananas in Coconut Milk

bananas in coconut milk

Bananas in coconut milk is a really simple dish to make.  Years ago, in a cooking course in Chiang Mai, I was taught how to make bananas in coconut milk.  It involves heating coconut milk with a few tablespoons of sugar and a little salt, and then adding chunks of bananas until they are tender.  It really is that simple.

The other day, I decided to order some bananas in coconut milk from a street vendor.  Before I ordered my bananas, I noticed that most of the dishes these particular vendors were selling had wasps floating in the various sweet sticky liquids, like this:

bananas with wasps

But did I let a few dead wasps stop me?  Heck no!  I’ll have one bananas in coconut milk, please!

I posted an update on facebook about my bananas in coconut milk adventure saying that if you want Thai sweets, it’s probably best to get at them earlier in the day before all the wasps have gotten to them.  So, a few days later, I decided to take my own advice and go back to the bananas in coconut milk stand a littler earlier.  I discovered something horrible!  Earlier in the day is the part of the day when all of the wasps are getting at the sweets and the stall is (imo) almost dangerous with so many wasps swarming around.  I have no idea how those vendors work so calmly with so many wasps swarming all around them.  I’d be downright jittery.

So I take it back: it is NOT best to go to the bananas in coconut milk stall earlier in the day.  It is best to wait until all of the wasps have had their way with the sweets and succumbed to a hyperglycemic coma in a sugar bath, and just cross your fingers that the vendor is able to scoop around the many wasps floating in the coconut milk or sugar syrup.

Leave a Reply

